02/01/2008 02:36 AM
02/01/2008 02:36 AM
West Virginia
B
Bear Wanderer Offline OP
Bear Wanderer  Offline OP
B
West Virginia
I live in TN (east) at the moment. Even though funds have been hard to find I have tried to be prepared for disasters (man or nature). The one thing I have just started investigating is water. Anyone around east TN knows that there has been a drought but thanks be it is raining today. My local water company has asked us to conserve water and now has told us to boil water. Of couse water is the one thing I do not have a large store of. I believe this points to an interesting problem that many survivalist will want to think about. As "civilization" grows and towns grow larger and people live on thanks to modern medicine the resources we consume grow smaller. I am not a doomsday prophet but I can read. If we continue to grow in the method we are will my children or grandchildren have food? Will the water supply be enough to supply drinking and other needs? I think these are basic questions that should be asked when laying up our stores.

Re: Survival Preparedness is not just for when the SHTF #99285
02/03/2008 09:55 AM
02/03/2008 09:55 AM
Twilight Zone
T
Total Resistance Offline
Total Resistance  Offline
T
Twilight Zone
Let your truck idle all day long and use hair spray. That extra bit will help the greenhouse gases melt a little more polar ice for us to drink.

Seriously tho, a good point. You can't manufacture water if it isn't there. And if it is brackish you need a way to make it potable pr you gucci gear and guns will be worthless.

Rule #1 - You do not publically bad mouth a fellow patriot.

"Being innocent is simply not enough for the government," Denise Simon
Re: Survival Preparedness is not just for when the SHTF #99286
02/03/2008 03:44 PM
02/03/2008 03:44 PM
Colorado
Patriot Offline
Patriot  Offline
Colorado